President Appoints Nine New INEC Resident Commissioners

President Bola Tinubu, on Wednesday, appointed nine new Resident Electoral Commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission for a term of five years each, subject to the confirmation of the Senate.

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Ajuri Ngelale, revealed this in a statement on Wednesday, titled ‘President Tinubu appoints nine INEC resident electoral commissioners.’

The new RECs include Mr Isah Ehimeakne (Edo State), Mr Bamidele Agbede (Ekiti State), Mr Jani Bello (Gombe State), Dr Taiye Ilayasu (Kwara State), Dr Bunmi Omoseyindemi (Lagos State).

Others are Yahaya Bello (Nasarawa State), Prof. Mohammed Yalwa (Niger State), Dr Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers State) and Abubakar Dambo (Zamfara State).

Tinubu said he expected the new appointees to “abide by the highest standards of professional and ethical conduct in the discharge of their duties, in accordance with the determination to facilitate the establishment of a new and sustainable standard of transparent, fair, and conflict-free electoral conduct in Nigeria.”

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button