RSU Is Now A Special University – Prof. Okogbule

The Vice-Chancellor of the Rivers State University, Port Harcourt, Prof. Nlerum S. Okogbule has said that the State’s University established over 40 years ago, can now be described as “a Special University” which according to him is highly sort out for by candidates seeking admission.

The Vice-Chancellor made the remarks during the inauguration of the Post Graduate Students Association (PGSA) and the Students Union Government (SUG) officers, held recently at the Nabo Graham Auditorium, Faculty of Law.

Prof. Okogbule noted that the growth of the institution was largely due to the transformation in the past 3 years, stating that the University has maintained an uninterrupted academic calendar.

He commended the outgone executives for the achievements recorded, stating that there was peace on campus throughout their tenure.

The Vice Chancellor charged the new executives to work together, assuring them of support from the University Management.

In his remarks, the Guest of Honour at the ceremony, Rt. Hon. Evans Bipi called on the new executives to be united and be accessible to the students who they are representing. He advised them to present their budget early and have a one-year plan in office.

In his address, the Dean of Students Affairs and Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Prof. Issac Zeb Obipi, expressed gratitude to God for the peaceful conduct of the election, adding that the Vice-Chancellor, University Management, the Electoral Committee, Cinfores Limited, Security Unit, Candidates and the entire students played engaging roles leading to the success of the electoral process.

Prof. Obipi gave an analysis of the votes cast, indicating the number of votes each candidate got from the various faculties.

 He further noted that the analysis highlighted the very second a vote was cast, among 14 other parameters, calling on individual voters who may want to access relevant sections of the Election Analysis to visit the Election Portal of the University website and click on “My Votes”.

Officers of the Post Graduate Students Association sworn-in include: Opubo Harcourt Wokoma (President), Margret Mary Monday (Vice-President), Goodluck Adiele (General Secretary), Godspower Bellor Obo (Assistant General Secretary), Sotonye G. Iganibo (Financial Secretary), Tamunosika H. Jonathan (Treasurer), Robert UtumEbri (Social / Welfare Secretary), EkpoIssac Daniel (PRO) and Okadini Collins Albert (Provost).

Meanwhile, the following officers have been sworn-in for the Students Union Government: Kelechi Omano (President), Kose Harmony Aluge (Vice-President), Conquest ChivusalemNodi (Secretary General).

Others are Chibete Wisdom Igbudu (Assistant Secretary General), Wealth Tamuno-Ala Iyaye (Financial Secretary), Cyril Chisom Golden (Director of Socials), Dango Precious (Welfare Secretary), Chinedu Eze (Public Relations Officer), Christopher Peter Okorie (Sports Secretary), Shalom Goodleave Wike (Transport and Equipment Secretary) and Victory Iheanyi Adele (Auditor General).

In their acceptance speeches the President of PGSA, Opubo Harcourt Wokoma and his SUG counterpart, Kelechi Omano appreciated the University Management for providing the enabling environment for the transparent conduct of the elections and thanked the students for the overwhelming support given to them through their votes.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button