Godswill Akpabio Emerges As 10th Senate President

….Tajudeen Abbas Also Elected Reps Speaker

The Former Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Senator Godswill Akpabio has emerged as Senate President in the election that held Tuesday morning during the inauguration of the 10th Senate.

Akpabio, who was the anointed candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), defeated former governor of Zamfara State, Abdulaziz Yari in the election.

The Clerk of the Senate, Barr Chinedu Akabueze took a roll call of Senators-elect who voted according to their state’s alphabetical order.

While, Akpabio was nominated by Senator Ali Ndume, Yari was nominated by Senator Ishiaku Abbo.

Meanwhile, Tajudeen Abbas, the lawmaker representing Zaria constituency, has been elected Speaker of the House of representatives.

The anointed candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) defeated Idris Wase and Aminu Jaji in a voice vote on Tuesday at the National Assembly Complex in Abuja.

Abbas scored 352 votes of the total 359 votes cast while Jaji and Wase polled three votes each.

Abbas, who has been a member of the House since 2011, was subsequently sworn in as the new Speaker of the House of Representatives succeeding Hon Femi Gbajabiamila who is now the Chief of Staff to President Bola Tinubu.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button