Rivers Lilian Okonkwo-Ogabu Emerges DNP, As NAWOJ Elects New Exco

The Nigeria Association of Women Journalists, NAWOJ, has elected a new Exco to pilot her affairs for the next three years.

In a keenly contested election held over the weekend at the Legbo Kutigi International Event Centre, Mrs Ladi Bala emerged the National President after beating the three other contenders.

Differing all odds, Lilian Okonkwo-Ogabu from Rivers State garnered  434 votes to soar over her opponent, Timinepere Jombo Idoko’s 377 votes and was announced the Deputy National President.

For the Secretariat, Helen John Udofa, from Akwa Ibom State scored 547 votes to become the National Secretary, defeating Daharatu Ahmed Aliyu who had 266 votes.

Other National positions contested for were National Treasurer and Internal Auditor, Fatimah Rasheed who scored 469 votes to become the Treasurer won Nma Ozioma Onwuka-Okereke with 213 votes and Nkechi Ogazi who had 124 votes.

To become the Internal Auditor, Dorothy Abellegah had 441votes to claim the seat winning her opponent Chiwendu Nnadozie who had 330 votes.

The NAWOJ Executives who were sworn in on Sunday, 15th November, 2020 by the National President of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Mr Chris Isiguzo, are expected to swing into action immediately.

Meanwhile the Deputy National President, Lilian Okonkwo Ogabu  has thanked all female journalists who voted for her in the elections.

“I asked for your support to be the Deputy National President of our dear Association, you graciously considered my appeal and stood for and with me through it all.

“It was turbulent but you all kept faith with me.

“Just as most of you promised, you elected me to be our new Deputy National President and I can only say ‘Thank You”, she said.

 Describing the delegates as being wonderful, both in carriage and conduct, throughout the National Delegates’ Congress in Minna, Niger State, she promised to give her best to move NAWOJ to greater height .

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button