Panel Summons GOC, IGP, Police Commissioner, ACP Akin Fakorede, DPOs, Fmr Rivers PPRO, Political Bigwigs, Others

As the Commission of Inquiry set up by the Rivers State government to look into alleged acts of violence, torture, brutality, murder and violation of fundamental rights of citizens by officers and operatives of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) began sitting in Port Harcourt on Tuesday, the atmosphere has been charged following the summoning of the high and mighty in both the army and police forces as well as politicians of repute.

The development which literally assumed the ‘talk of the town’ in the Garden City on Tuesday, saw tongues wagging on the possible indictment of many names considered notorious in the infamous rogue SARS police unit in Rivers State.

As at the last count, a total of two hundred and fifty-two persons have been summoned to appear before the Justice Chukwuneye I. Uriri (rtd) Commission in their respective dates which begins on the 25thday of November, 2020 at the Obi Wali International Conference Center, Port Harcourt.

But, sources at the Commission told our reporter that no less than three hundred persons would be invited to answer to the petitions which it was gathered that the petitioners repeatedly mentioned their names.

Among those summoned by the Commission is the General Officer Commanding (GOC) 6 Division of the Nigerian Army, Bori Camp who will appear before it by 10 O’clock on Thursday, 26th November, 2020.

Others are Inspector-General of Police (IGP), also to appear on Thursday, November 26, 2020; Rivers Police Commissioner, Friday, 27th November, 2020 and Mr. Akin Fakorede, an Assistant Commissioner of Police whose days as SARS Commander in Rivers State witnessed unending battle with Governor Nyesom Ezenwo Wike who severally accused him of unjustified brutality and working for the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) in the 2015 and 2019 general elections respectively.

Also summoned to appear before the Commission are Mrs. Ireju Barasua, former Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO) in Rivers; two principal members of the APC in the state, Bariledum Gregory Nwidam and Eric Nwibani respectively.

Others in the list include: Commander E-Crack Unit, Mile 1 Divisional Police Station; Commander, Anti-Cultism Unit; ACP Adamu Abdulahi Elemem, Head, IGP Monitoring Unit, Force Headquarters, Abuja; Divisional Police Officers (DPO) of Old GRA, Central Police Station, Mini-Okoro, Rumuokoro, Ozuoba, Afam, Oyigbo, Ahoada, Bori, Borokiri and Elele among others.  Also summoned are Police Area Commanders, SARS Commanders and officers of the CID in Rivers State.  

Our reporter also sighted some names in the list such as Constable Ogbonna Bonaventure, Divisional Police Station, Eneka; Mike (SARS) Rukpokwu; CSP Elijah Eleke, Area Command Headquarters, Omoku; Jack M. Samson, Samuel Sunday, Inspector Friday Ikuku, Wisdom Modoki, Chief Okey Anyadike, Richard Nwankwo Esq., Adolphus Amadi, Athanasius Amadi, Kingsley Amadi, Napoleon Amadi, Godson Cornelius, Benjamin Chinwo, Ukonwa Nweke, Ejike Ugwu, Johnson Ordu and Elekwachi Onyenukwe Esq. among others.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button