Banigo Inaugurates Okirika Local Government Boundary Committee

Rivers state Deputy Governor, and Chairman Rivers State Boundary Commission, Dr. (Mrs) Ipalibo Harry Banigo, has charged members of the Okrika Local Government Boundary Committee to be dispassionate, fair, and sincere in the discharge of their duties.

Dr Banigo gave this charge at the Okrika Local Government Area Council Secretariat on Monday, 19th September 2022, while inaugurating members of the Okrika Local Government Boundary Committee at the Council Secretariat in Okrika.

Represented by the Secretary of the State Boundary Commission, Mr. Ikina Atangsi Lucky, the Deputy Governor, enjoined members of the Committee to give their best and bring their wealth of experience to bear.

She noted that by the National Boundary Commission Establishment Act, which makes provision for the establishment and inauguration of the Local Government Boundary Committee, the Committee is in charge of Boundary disputes arising from the Local Government level.

According to her,” what we are doing here today is obedience to the law, once the new set of Council Chairmen and their Executives are sworn in into office, we should move from one Local Government Area to the other and inaugurate these Committees, because the art of Boundary resolution is a very difficult one, and so, the State cannot get to the villages always, so the first point of call should be the Council, which is the grass root”.

Dr. Banigo, advised members of the Committee to be resolute and firm in carryout their tasks, noting that some people would want to influence their sense of judgement.

 Earlier, the Chairman Okrika Local Government Area, Hon. Akuro Tobin, congratulated members of the Committee, and expressed confidence that members of the Committee would deliver on the task ahead.

He disclosed that Okrika Local Government has remained peaceful since his assumption of office and that it would continue to maintain the peace.

Responding on behalf of the Committee, the Chairman of Okrika Local Government Boundary Committee, Mrs Charity Ibulubo, said they would work assiduously in ensuring that they deliver on the mandate given to them.

Members of the Committee are Hon. Charity Ibulubo, as Chairman, Hon. Herbert Amiebi, Chief Dere Biemgbo Ofokome, Chief Amangi Sunday Owoi- Opuoru, Mrs Love Wokoba, Dr. Mina Aprioku as well as the DPO of Okrika, DSS Okrika and Immigration Okrika.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button