IAUE Senior Staff Club Gets New Leadership

...As Dr Briggs Bieye Emerges President

The Senior Staff Club of Ignatius Ajuru University of Education now has a new leadership to pilot its affairs for the next 2 years.

This followed the election executive members of the club on Friday August 25th 2023.

In the keenly contested but free and fair election, Dr Briggs Bieye, a Medical Doctor with the Health Centre at the University emerged as the President with a total of 120 votes , while his opponents Mr Minikwu Donald secured 117 votes, Mr Ngeribara Aribibia got 102 votes , and  Dr Edwin Ajoku got 42 votes, while 9 votes were void.

Similarly Mr Nwachukwu Harrison of the Department of English and Communication Art emerged as  the Treasurer of the club with 180 votes to beat Mr George Telema who got 123 votes and Mr Wali Innocent who got 74 votes despite twelve void votes.

Meanwhile, Barrister Chris Didia, Deputy Registrar and Head Legal Unit has emerged the Bar Manager of the club. He clinched the position with a total of 268 votes as against his opponent Mrs Gloria Emesiobi who got 112 votes inspite of ten void votes.

Inaugurating the winners, the Chairperson of the Electoral Committee Dr (Mrs) Chikanele Asuru advised them to work as a team to achieve a greater goal and  expressed optimism that the club will witness remarkable transformation during their tenure.

In his acceptance speech, the new President Dr Briggs Bieye  commended the Electoral Committee for conducting a transparent election and expressed appreciation to all the electorates including those who did not vote for him.

He emphasized that his tenure will witness an all inclusive policy adding that the club will wear a new look under their tenure as well as operate in tandem with what obtains elsewhere.

Other members of the new leadership are Wahua Ndamavu Vice President, Dr Taylor Tamunosaki General Secretary, Dr Franklin Ekweme Apelu Financial Secretary, Okidim Samuel Horsfall Assistant Secretary, Mr Dawariboko Parker Provost, Moudyn Tariah Public Relations Officer and Jonathan Regina Jonaba Sports Secretary.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button